Second Annual IAB Data Rockstar Awards Celebrate Industry Leaders Who Demonstrated Excellence in Data Science

IAB & IAB Data Center of Excellence Also Present First-Ever IAB Data Rising Star Award

NEW YORK – The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) and its Data Center of Excellence announced the winners of the second annual IAB Data Rockstar Awards. The awards recognize outstanding work being done by data industry practitioners, encouraging greater interest in the dynamic field of data science. Winners were selected by the Data Center Board of Directors and were evaluated based on demonstrated excellence, creativity, or forward-thinking approaches to solving problems in data science, as well as the impact their contributions have made to their team, company, or the industry as a whole.

“The IAB Data Rockstar Awards were created to acknowledge the importance of leadership in data science—and highlight the ongoing need for exceptional talent in the space.”

The five winners of the 2017 IAB Data Rockstar Awards include:

  • Rajiv Bhat, Senior Vice President, Data Sciences and Marketplace, InMobi
  • Jason Bier, Executive Vice President, General Counsel and Chief Privacy Officer, Engine Media
  • Jaysen Gillespie, Vice President, Head of Analytics and Data Science, Criteo
  • Stacey Hawes, President, Data Practice, Epsilon
  • Bill Michels, Senior Vice President, Product and Partnerships, Factual

In addition, the IAB and its Data Center presented the first-ever IAB Data Rising Star to spotlight an up-and-coming data executive whose work shows skill and foresight, despite being in a data-centric role for less than 5 years. The 2017 award was given to Dorothy Ann Advincula, Head of Research and Insights, Samsung Ads.

“These award winners represent the best-of-the-best in the dynamic arena of ‘Big Data’ and play key roles in ensuring that digital marketing delivers powerful results for brands and consumers alike,” said Orchid Richardson, Vice President and Managing Director, IAB Data Center of Excellence. “The IAB Data Rockstar Awards were created to acknowledge the importance of leadership in data science—and highlight the ongoing need for exceptional talent in the space.”

Nominations, submitted by peers and colleagues from companies ranging from data analytical platforms to marketing technology agencies, were accepted between May and October 2017.

The IAB Data Rockstar Awards winners were announced at the IAB Data Symposium in New York City. For more information, visit

About IAB

The Interactive Advertising Bureau (IAB) empowers the media and marketing industries to thrive in the digital economy. Its membership is comprised of more than 650 leading media and technology companies that are responsible for selling, delivering, and optimizing digital advertising or marketing campaigns. The trade group fields critical research on interactive advertising, while also educating brands, agencies, and the wider business community on the importance of digital marketing. In affiliation with the IAB Tech Lab, it develops technical standards and best practices. IAB and the IAB Education Foundation are committed to professional development and elevating the knowledge, skills, expertise, and diversity of the workforce across the industry. Through the work of its public policy office in Washington, D.C., IAB advocates for its members and promotes the value of the interactive advertising industry to legislators and policymakers. Founded in 1996, the IAB is headquartered in New York City and has a San Francisco office.