AOP Unveils Winners of the Digital Publishing Awards 2016

Trinity Mirror, The Guardian, and Dennis Publishing were among those celebrated in an event recognising the creativity and diversity of the digital publishing industry

London, UK: The Association of Online Publishers (AOP) revealed the winners of its esteemed Digital Publishing Awards at an exclusive ceremony hosted by comedian, writer, presenter and actress, Katherine Ryan.

Held in partnership with PubMatic, the prestigious event returned to its annual setting of the Roundhouse in London to celebrate excellence across the industry. Providing recognition for those who deliver engaging and unique content, the awards are widely regarded as the benchmark for innovative digital publishing.

“This year’s awards saw record numbers of entries and proved to be a showcase of the varied talent that exists within the industry,” said Richard Reeves, managing director at AOP. “The winners and finalists showed a deep understanding of not only their audiences, but also the tools needed to develop a strong connection with each user. We are delighted to offer the acknowledgement they deserve.”

The most prominent awards in the AOP ceremony, Digital Publisher of the Year – Business to Business; and Digital Publisher of the Year – Consumer; were scooped by Incisive Media and Dennis Publishing respectively. While the award for Best Online Media Property / Consumer went to PC Gamer and Best Online Media Property / B2B was awarded to Business Insider.

Made for Mums won the accolade for Best Editorial / Audience Development Team – Consumer, and Nursing Times Learning triumphed in the Best Editorial/ Audience Development Team — Business to Business. The Digital Advertising Operations Team award went to Unruly and Trinity Mirror Digital Analytics Team won Digital Data Team. Digital Sales Personwas awarded to Jessica Arnold at Dennis Publishing.

The full list of winners follows:

Editorial Excellence

  • Digital Journalist / Content Producer of the Year 2016:

o   Winner: Anthony Cuthbertson, Newsweek
o   Highly Commended: Will Hurst, Architects’ Journal
o   Highly Commended: Steve Robson, Trinity Mirror

  • Digital Editorial / Audience Development Team of the Year, B2B: Nursing Times Learning
  • Digital Editorial / Audience Development Team of the Year, Consumer: Made For Mums

Partnership Excellence

  • Best Native Advertising Campaign: Netflix and RadioTimes TV Listings Integration
  • Best Media Technology Partner:

o   Winner: Oracle DMP, née BlueKai
o   Highly Commended: OnScroll Viewability and Engagement solutions by sovrn

  • Best Commercial Partnership: The future of sports betting. A bet365 & ESPN solution

Commercial Excellence

  • Digital Sales Person of the Year: Jessica Arnold, Dennis Publishing
  • Digital Sales Team of the Year: Global’s Digital Sales Team
  • Best Publisher Marketing Campaign: NME Relaunch
  • Digital Advertising Operations Team of the Year

o   Winner: Unruly
o   Highly Commended: Parkers and CAR Operations Team, Bauer Media

  • Digital Design/ Product Development Team of the Year: Time Inc. UK Innovation Lab
  • Digital Data Team of The Year: Trinity Mirror Digital Analytics Team

Publishing Excellence

  • Best Research / Insight Project: An industry first; proving the efficacy of data targeted digital audio with Dax, Vizeum and Panasonic, from Global, The Media & Entertainment Group
  • Best Use of Social Media:

o   Winner: The Counted, The Guardian
o   Highly Commended: – Radio Times TV Champion, Immediate Media

  • Best Use of Video: Guardian Multimedia
  • Best Digital Publishing Launch

o   Winner:
o   Highly Commended: Nursing Times Learning

Grand Prix

  • Best Online Media Property / Brand B2B: Business Insider UK
  • Best Online Media Property / Brand Consumer

o   Winner: PC Gamer
o   Highly Commended: Auto Express

  • Digital Publisher of the Year, B2B: Incisive Media
  • Digital Publisher of the Year, Consumer

o   Winner: Dennis Publishing
o   Highly Commended: Time Inc. UK

Further details about the AOP Digital Publishing Awards 2016 can be found at

Headline partner: PubMatic

Event Partners: Affino, AppNexus, Celtra, Circus Street, Deloitte, Geoedge, GumGum, Intrinsic, Kargo, Lewis Silkin, Live Intent, OnScroll by Sovrn, Quantcast, Radium One, Sublime Skinz, The Media Trust, UKOM

About The Association of Online Publishers

The UK Association of Online Publishers (AOP) is an industry body representing digital publishing companies that create original, branded, quality content. AOP champions the interests of media owners from diverse backgrounds including newspaper and magazine publishing, TV and radio broadcasting, and pure online media.

For more information, visit